To report elder abuse over the phone, call the Florida Department of Elder Affairs at 1.800.962.2873, which is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week (800.96.ABUSE). To report suspected elder neglect, exploitation, or abuse, press 2 on your keyboard. To report elder abuse online, go to ‘Report Abuse Online NOW’ and fill out the form.
The Florida Abuse Hotline takes reports of known or suspected child abuse, neglect, or abandonment 24 hours a day, seven days a week, as well as reports of known or suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. The hotline is open seven days a week.
Florida Statutes and Department Operating Procedures require that known or suspected abuse, neglect, exploitation, or self-neglect of vulnerable persons (elderly or handicapped) be reported to the appropriate authorities. Examine if existing laws, regulations, and procedures, as well as case practice standards, are being followed.
Many states enable you to report elder abuse anonymously, despite the fact that laws governing elder abuse differ from state to state. However, even if you are unable to make a confidential complaint, it is still crucial to report the abuse. Elder abuse may have significant, even life-threatening effects if it is not reported in time.
According to Florida law, vulnerable individuals must be reported if they have experienced or suspect abuse, neglect, exploitation, or self-neglect (elderly or disabled). The Florida Abuse Hotline accepts reports 24 hours a day, seven days a week. To report abuse, dial 1-800-962-2873 or 1-800-96-ABUSE. Please report abuse online at https://reportabuse.dcf.state.florida/
Anyone who intentionally or willfully abuses an elderly person or disabled adult without causing them great bodily harm, permanent disability, or permanent disfigurement is guilty of a third-degree felony punishable as provided in sections 775.082 to 775.084 of the Florida Statutes (or their equivalent) and punishable as provided in those sections (or their equivalent).
The protection of vulnerable adults by conducting protective investigations and forwarding the findings to the state attorney. Photographs, videotapes, and medical examinations; abolition of protected conversations; and destruction of sensitive records and papers are all examples of what is prohibited.
The following are examples of emotional elder abuse: Humiliating words. Intentionally prolonging wait times for food, medication, or essential medical treatment is against the law. Interfering with the ability to make decisions. Affirming falsehoods on the record.
Neglect of the Elderly: Negligence. An old person’s health, safety, or welfare may be jeopardized if a hospital or nursing home fails to meet a reasonable standard of care in its treatment or provision of services. If this occurs, the care provider is deemed Negligent, and the victim may be entitled to compensation.
In accordance with Chapter 39 of the Florida Statutes (F.S. ), any person who knows, or has reasonable cause to suspect, that a child has been abused, neglected, or abandoned by a parent, legal custodian, caregiver, or other person responsible for the child’s welfare must immediately report such knowledge or suspicion to the Florida Department of Children and Families.
It is possible to make a complaint online or by calling the Florida AHCA at (888) 419-3456. As much of the following information as possible will be required when you file your report: The nursing home’s official name is The Medicaid identification number for the care facility.
Mandatory Reporter (General): o A mandatory reporter is anybody who knows, or has reasonable grounds to believe, that a child has been abused, abandoned, or neglected by a parent, legal custodian, caregiver, or other person who is responsible for the child’s welfare. 39.201(1) of the Revised Statutes (a).
According to the Florida Senate, a ″senior citizen″ is defined as someone who is 60 years old or older.
In Florida, the offense of Exploitation of an Elderly Person or Disabled Adult for a sum between $10,000 and $50,000 is classified as a Second Degree Felony and punishable by up to fifteen years in prison, fifteen years of probation, and a fine of up to $10,000.
A person who is 60 years of age or older and who is suffering from the infirmities of aging as manifested by advanced age or organic brain damage, or other physical, mental, or emotional dysfunctioning to the extent that the person’s ability to provide adequately for the person’s own care or support has been impaired is defined as a ″elderly person.″
How to lessen your chances of being abused as a vulnerable adult