Under Connecticut statutes all social workers are mandated reporters of suspected abuse and neglect of children, the elderly and persons with mental retardation. The law and reporting process varies for each of these populations so social workers are advised to familiarize oneself with the specifics of each law.
Those required by law to file are considered mandated reporters. These professionals can include health care providers, mental health providers, crisis counselors, school personnel, social workers, day care providers and law enforcement personnel among others.
The law requires certain professionals (i.e. mandated reporters) to report suspected abuse, neglect, abandonment, or exploitation of the elderly to the Department of Social Services (DSS) within 72 hours.
A mandatory reporter is a certain person (such as pediatricians and child care workers ) who must report when they know or suspect that child abuse is going on. In most states, professions that engage in regular contact with children are listed as mandatory reporters.
Under this statute, mandatory reporters must report cases of abuse and neglect to: law enforcement personnel, and. Mandated Reporters of Child Abuse in California
The Mandatory Reporter Guide (MRG) is a world-first child protection assessment tool. The MRG provides a common platform for decision making regarding the threshold or risk of significant harm (ROSH).
School board members are not mandatory reporters, which means that while a school board member who has a reasonable suspicion of child abuse involving a district student may report the alleged abuse, they are not required by law to do so. Naturally, the Child Protection Law exempts such records from FOIA.
Most states in the United States have enacted mandatory reporting laws, which require the reporting of specified injuries and wounds, suspected abuse or domestic violence for individuals being treated by a health care professional.
States that include clergy as mandated reporters are Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia, Illinois, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina,
Pursuant to Section 46a-11b of the Connecticut General Statutes, any physician licensed under the provisions of chapter 370, any resident physician or intern in any hospital in this state, any registered nurse, any person paid for caring for persons in any facility and any licensed practical nurse, medical examiner,
Mandated reporters must report orally to the Department of Children and Families'(DCF) Hotline or a law enforcement agency WITHIN 12 HOURSof suspecting that a child has been abused or neglected and must submit a written report (DCF-136 form) to DCF within 48 hours of making the oral report.
Psychologists as a profession are mandated to report in the Northern Territory, South Australia, Tasmania and Victoria (since March 2019). In the Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales and Queensland – work roles that involve providing services to children are mandated to report.
Librarians are not “mandated reporters” —people who are legally required to report abuse if observed or suspected—nor should we be.
Immediately, or as soon as possible, call a Child Protective Services agency (Child Welfare/Child Protective Services if the abuse is occurring within the family or home or Law Enforcement if the suspected abuser is someone outside the family) to make a verbal report. If the child is in imminent danger, call 9-1-1.