Florida law requires the reporting of known or suspected abuse, neglect, exploitation, or self-neglect of vulnerable adults (elderly or disabled). the Florida Abuse Hotline receives reports 24 hours a day. call 1-800-962-2873 or 1-800-96-ABUSE. report online at https://reportabuse.dcf.state.fl.us.
To prove there was a breach by the fiduciary or someone else, one or more of the following must be proven:
The federal Elder Justice Act, enacted in 2010, defines financial exploitation of the elderly as, ” the fraudulent or otherwise illegal, unauthorized, or improper act that uses the resources of an elder for monetary or personal benefit, profit, or gain, or that results in depriving an elder the rightful access to, or
What is Financial Exploitation of the Elderly? Some examples include cashing an elderly person’s checks without their knowledge or permission, forging their signatures, deceiving them into signing certain documents or making withdrawals without permission from their bank account with the elderly person’s ATM card.
Although elder abuse laws vary from state to state, many states allow you to report elder abuse anonymously. Even if you cannot file an anonymous report, it is still important to report the abuse. Failing to report elder abuse can have serious, life-threatening consequences.
Call the police or 9-1-1 immediately if someone you know is in immediate, life-threatening danger. If the danger is not immediate, but you suspect that abuse has occurred or is occurring, please tell someone. Relay your concerns to the local adult protective services, long-term care ombudsman, or the police.
(12) “Financial exploitation” means the illegal or improper use, control over, or withholding of the property, income, resources, or trust funds of the elderly person or the vulnerable adult by any person or entity for any person’s or entity’s profit or advantage other than for the elder person or the vulnerable
How do I prove financial elder abuse?
Here are some steps to consider taking:
Elder abuse fraud or senior fraud in California is defined as wrongfully defrauding a person age 65 or older out of money or property. The offense can be filed as a misdemeanor or a felony and can carry penalties of up to 4 years in jail or prison.
What Can I Do If Someone Is Taking Advantage of an Elderly Family Member?
If your state mandates reporting, most medical care providers have an obligation to report suspected elder abuse. If they fail to report potential abuse, they can be liable for any injuries and damages the victim may later suffer.
Exploitation— Illegal taking, misuse, or concealment of funds, property or assets of a vulnerable person. Identity theft is also considered a form of exploitation. Neglect—Refusal or failure by those responsible to provide food, shelter, health care or protection for a vulnerable person.
Dublin North, Dublin North Central and Dublin North West: [email protected] / (01) 625 0447.
Some states, including Delaware, Florida, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Utah, and Wyoming go further and require any person who knows of elder abuse to make a report.
Make a report.